Cameroon, Nigeria, South Africa: African teams vying for the Women’s World Cup

AFP | Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon footballers are set to take the pitch in France for the Women’s World Cup.

Three African national football teams have qualified for the Women’s World Cup in France. The Nigerians are veterans of the competition, while South Africa are contesting it for the first time.

Nigeria (Group A)

As eleven-time African champions, Nigeria have nothing left to prove in women’s football on the African continent – and they’ve been consistent on the world stage, too. The Super Falcons have not missed a Women’s World Cup since the competition began in 1991. They even made it to the quarter-finals in 1999.

But Nigeria did struggle to stamp their ticket to France this year. They finished runners-up in their group behind South Africa during the last African Cup of Nations, before ultimately beating the South Africans in the final on penalties.

Continue reading …

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: